TheJOTUS

The Jim of the United States

The “Opt Out” Form

Posted by TheJOTUS on January 17, 2009

As some of you may or may not know, my boy started kindergarten this school year.  Or as my mom says “kinnygarten.”  Although it is only kindergarten, I had my reservations about the curriculum and how social issues would be presented to him.  Liberalism is so deeply entrenched within the public school system, my cause for concern was warranted.  I remember in high school I had a few teachers require us to write a journal each day.  As if writing down my fucking feelings in a journal will help me get a job.

Interviewer:  So, tell me what is your position on the role of government in supporting innovation in the field of technology, in particular concerning our company?

Me:  Well, sir, I really have no idea.  But…I can tell you how I feel about it.  Will that work?

Interviewer:  Yeeeaahh, look, I think we have already filled this position.  Thank you for coming in.

Me:  Good afternoon, welcome to McDonald’s, can I take your order?

But I’m way off topic.  Just ask my good friend zulubuff how writing a stupid journal prepares you for the real world.  Fun fact:  It doesn’t. 

At any rate, barring a couple of minor hiccups this year, it has gone rather well……until recently.  Each Friday, the boy’s teacher stuffs his back pack with assignments they worked on during the week along with inserts of what topics they are discussing.  Last Friday, I pull out a flyer titled “Meet the President” with B. Hussein Obama’s picture on it.  Yeah, I know.

When you open it up you see pictures of Barry as a kid swimming with his white grandpa (yep, I said white cause the picture was clearly drawing the parallel), with the wife and two girls, Air Force One and the White House.  Overall it is pretty harmless and is basically explaining:  The duties of the President, where he lives, how he travels and that B. Hussein Obama is our next President, which is a depressingly sad fact in reality. 

But then yesterday, we get the real kicker–The “Opt Out” form.  You see the boy’s school and his class–his kindergarten class–are going to broadcast the Inauguration Day proceedings.  So they sent a form home to sign in case any parents oppose:

Tuesday, January 20 is the 2009 Inauguration Day in Washington DC.  Some of our classrooms will be checking in on the proceedings throughout the school day and incorporating the events into their civic and government lessons.  If you are opposed to having your child view the Inauguration events, please sign below.  Your child must give this signed form to their teacher in order for them to be excused.  You may also email your child’s teacher this weekend and let them know of your desires as well.

_____ I do not want my child taking part in the Inaugural broadcast.

Signed _______________________________________________

Child’s Name __________________________________________

This was kind of a curve ball for me.  Apparently the school thought there would be some backlash from the parents on this.  After all we live in a red state and in a red county that went nearly 80% McCain/Palin.  But what do they think the parents would be opposed to:  Inauguration Day, Obama or the testicular fondling media covering the entire event?  My guess is the latter.  In fact, I am fairly certain it is the latter.

Or perhaps they could be opposed because their kids–especially kindergartners–could be learning something a bit more tangible like reading, writing, math, science, etc.  Yeah, yeah, yeah, I know Inauguration Day is a part of this Country’s history and tradition.  I do.  But the boy could definitely be practicing his letters and writing sentences.  Maybe she could have him start a journal……ahem.

So here is my dilemma:  Do I sign the form and subject my boy to what is sure to be perceived as the kid with player hater parents (don’t hate the player, hate the game)?  Do I not sign it but send an email to his teacher reminding her there is a lingering question of tone with the Inauguration celebrations during a time of war?  You know, kind of like they said during Bush’s second Inaugural.  Or I could just do nothing, knowing a 6 year old will probably not retain, or even remember, any of it.

Decisions, decisions……

One Response to “The “Opt Out” Form”

  1. zulubuff said

    let him watch it. My 2.5 year old son saw obama on TV and heard his name. He looked at me and said “Obama. Oooh, yuck!” I love my sone and he loves me and apparently he has picked up a bit on my Obama feelings.

    Now Jimmy, the most ironic thing about journaling is that while I did hate it in school and thought it was a waste, keeping a blog is essentially a journal. We sold out.

Leave a Reply

 
