TheJOTUS

The Jim of the United States

Top 10 List Of Conservative Movies

Posted by TheJOTUS on February 6, 2010

Way late, but better late than never so they say.  And this is in just the last decade.

Not real sure where The Dark Night fits in…but there is one line I do love:  “I just did what I do best. I took your little plan and I turned it on itself. Look what I did to this city with a few drums of gas and a couple of bullets. Hmmm? You know… You know what I’ve noticed? Nobody panics when things go “according to plan.” Even if the plan is horrifying! If, tomorrow, I tell the press that, like, a gang banger will get shot, or a truckload of soldiers will be blown up, nobody panics, because it’s all “part of the plan.” But when I say that one little old mayor will die, well then everyone loses their minds!”

I’m not sure it makes sense, but I like it.

At any rate, here you go:

1. Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World (Peter Weir, 2003)

Peter Weir’s unashamedly old-fashioned and visually stunning adaptation of Patrick O’Brian’s novel is one of the greatest odes to leadership ever committed to celluloid. Australian director Weir has made many terrific films, including Gallipoli, Dead Poets Society, The Year of Living Dangerously, and Witness, but Master and Commander was the pinnacle of his career so far. Nominated for 10 Oscars, including Best Picture, it should be essential viewing for any commander-in-chief. Russell Crowe delivers a powerhouse performance as Jack Aubrey, Captain of HMS Surprise, a British warship that hunts and ultimately captures a far larger French adversary during the Napoleonic Wars. Set in 1805, it is an epic tale of heroism and love for country in the face of incredible odds, and a glowing tribute to the grit and determination that forged the British Empire.

2. Black Hawk Down (Ridley Scott, 2001)

Sir Ridley Scott’s searing depiction of the ill-fated US raid on Mogadishu in 1993, which left 19 American servicemen dead, was released just months after the 9/11 terrorist attacks on the United States and the launch of the War on Terror. Based on the book by Mark Bowden, it won Academy Awards for Best Film Editing and Sound, and Scott was nominated for Best Director. Many critics enthusiastically dubbed Black Hawk Down an anti-war film, and it is in some respects a cautionary tale about the perils of nation-building. But I regard it above all as an extraordinarily powerful and deeply patriotic tribute to the heroism and bravery of the US military, faced with overwhelming odds in a hostile city dominated by brutal Somali warlords. It is essentially a story of incredible sacrifice and camaraderie in the heat of battle, and ranks alongside Zulu, Saving Private Ryan and A Bridge Too Far as one of the greatest war films of all time.

More at the link.  And it isn’t necessarily in order.

One movie that fails to make the list is The Incredibles, which is one of the most conservative films out there.  At least in the past 5 years.  I loved that whole storyline about the superheros getting sued by an ungrateful American public.  

Amazingly conservative.  Go out and achieve.  Also, Syndrome’s unforgettable line:

Syndrome (to Mr. Incredible): “I’ll give them the most spectacular heroics anyone’s ever seen. And when I’m old and I’ve had my fun, I’ll sell my inventions so that everyone can be superheroes. Everyone can be super. And when everyone’s super, no one will be.” [evil laughter]

Sound familiar?

A couple of other mentions here are:

17 Again.  Yeah a teen flick, but believe it or not it is pretty good.  Zac Efron actually does a really good job.  A movie in which a Zac Efron keeps telling promiscuous girls they need to respect themselves (or he’ll call their fathers) isn’t really a teen-squeal sort of deal.  It’s a weirdly, strongly conservative movie.  The really conservative scene is when he’s in class with his daughter, being taught about safe sex, to combat the go-have-sex-everyone’s-doing-it message the teacher is pushing, he basically gives a three minute speech about the virtues of abstinence and that the real point of having sex is to have a baby, a tiny thing “you never imagined you could love so much.”

This conservative personally found his jaw dropping a little bit.  Admittedly as a 17 year old punk this thought never once crossed my mind.  But as a soon to be 40 year old with a child, it seems to ring home.

Another movie is Blast from the Past.  Yeah, I know it wasn’t in the last decade.  Sue me.

Classic line:

Troy: I know, I mean I thought a “gentleman” was somebody that owned horses. But it turns out, his short and simple definition of a lady or a gentleman is, someone who always tries to make sure the people around him or her are as comfortable as possible.
Eve: Where do you think he got all that information?
Troy: From the oddest place – his parents. I mean, I don’t think I got that memo from mine.

Imagine that.

Leave a Reply

 
